Dataset List


Data Details

Coastline Data of Sri Lanka

LIU Chuang1SHI Ruixiang1ZHU Yunqiang1
1 Institute of Geographical Sciences and Natural Resources Research Chinese Academy of Sciences Beijing 100101 China


Published:Dec. 2015

Visitors:17539       Data Files Downloaded:336      
Data Downloaded:1436.51 MB      Citations:

Key Words:

Sri Lanka,Coast Lines,Islands,geography of the world,Data encyclopedia


Sri Lanka is consisted of Sri Lanka Island and several small islands around it. The maximum length is 435km from north (9o50’40〃N) to south (5o55’08〃N) and its maximum width is 226 km from east (81o52’47〃E ) to west (79o27’05〃E). Sri Lanka faces the southeast of the Indian subcontinent crossing the Palk Strait and the Gulf of Mannar in the west and Maldives in the southwest. Besides the Sri Lanka Island, the Mannar Island, Jaffna Island, Delft Island, Punkudutivu Island, Nainativu Island, Analaitivu Island, Mandaitivu Island and Karainagar Island are included. It has an area of 65,817.24 sq km, in which, the area of the Sri Lanka Island is 65437.10 sq km. The total length of the coast lines is 4,349.68 km based on the Google Earth Images in 2015, in which the coastline of the Sri Lanka Island is 3,455.31 km. The coastline of Sri Lanka is less curvature, except a series of lagoons. The summit of the Mt. Pidurutalagala, which is located in the center and southern part of the island, is 2524 meters above sea level. It becomes source of the rivers covering the island. The ecosystem changes from the tropical lowlands with an average temperature of 27�C to the temperature ecosystem at an altitude of 2,000 m. The weather of the island is effected by both south-west and north-east monsoon directly. The most area of the island except northern and eastern parts is response to the south-west monsoon with rain season from May to July, while the regions else response to the north-east monsoon with the rain season from December to January. The precipitation covering most area of the island is from 1300 mm from lowlands to 2300mm at the high mountains. The capital of Sri Lanka is Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte, which is located at southern part of the city of Colombo, the commercial capital of the country. 9 provinces and 25 districts have been divided in the administrative system under the center government. The provinces are: Central Province, North Central Province, Eastern Province, North-Western Province, Sabaragamuwa Province, Southern Province, Uva Province, Western Province and Northern Province. The districts are: Colombo, Kandy, Nuwara Eliya, Hambantota, Anuradhapura, Galle, Polonaruwa, Kurunegala, Trincomalee, Jaffna, Matara, Badulla, Kalutara, Moneragala, Ampara, Matale, Batticaloa, Killinochchi, Vavuniya, Mulativu, Mannar, Puttalam, Gampaha, Kegalle, Ratnapura.Browse

Foundation Item:

Data Citation:

LIU Chuang, SHI Ruixiang, ZHU Yunqiang. Coastline Data of Sri Lanka[J/DB/OL]. Digital Journal of Global Change Data Repository, 2015.

Liu, C., Shi, R. X., Zhu, Y. Q. Coastline and city location dataset of Sri Lanka [J]. Journal of Global Change Data & Discovery, 2017, 1(1): 116. DOI: 10.3974/geodp.2017.01.20.

Data Product:

ID Data Name Data Size Operation
1 SriLankaIslands.kmz 5709.75KB
2 SriLankaIslandsshp.rar 9435.38KB
3 SriLanka_District_Pt.kmz 3.18KB
4 SriLanka_District_Pt_shp.rar 2.54KB