Dataset List


Oceanic region
Data Details

Boundary Data of Malt Archipelago

LIU Chuang1SHI Ruixiang1ZHU Yunqiang1
1Institute of Geographical Sciences and Natural Resources Research,Chinese Academy of Science,Beijing100101,China


Published:Jul. 2016

Visitors:4979       Data Files Downloaded:73      
Data Downloaded:57.42 MB      Citations:

Key Words:

Malta,archipelago,Mediterranean,data encyclopedia


Malta Archipelago is located at the middle of the Mediterranean from 35°47′11″N - 36°4′56″N。14°11′1″E - 14°34′36″E. It across the Malta Channel 81km distance to the Sicily island of Italian. Malt archipelago is consisted of a series of islands, including Malta island, Gozo Island, Comino Island), Cominoto Island, Filfla island, Islands of St. Paul, Manoel island, Fungus Rock, Ta' taħt il-Mazz Rock. The total area of Malta Archipelago is 317.23km², and the coast line is 256.29 km long. The top three biggest islands are: Malta island (247.56 km²), Gozo Island(66.17 km²), and Comino Island (2.85 km²). The capital of Malta is the city of Valletta, which is located at the eastern of Malta island. The dataset is developed based on Google earth images, and archived at .kmz and .shp data formats with the data size of 1.51 MB.

Foundation Item:

Chinese Academy of Sciences(Y22Q0203TD)

Data Citation:

LIU Chuang,SHI Ruixiang,ZHU Yunqiang.Boundary Data of Malt Archipelago[DB/OL].Global Change Research Data Publishing & Repository,2016.DOI:10.3974/geodb.2016.04.12.V1.

Data Product:

ID Data Name Data Size Operation
1 MaltaIslands.kmz 592.93kb DownLoad
2 MaltaIslandsshp.rar 962.31kb DownLoad

Institute of Geographic Sciences and Natural Resources Research,Chinese Academy of Sciences

The Geographical Society of China


Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) Task Group on Preservation of and Access to Scientific and Technical Data in/for/with Developing Countries (PASTD)

Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology

Digital Linchao GeoMuseum