Dataset List


Data Details

Coastline Data of Sumatera Island

MA Long1TAO Zui2LV Tingting2ZHOU Xiang2LIU Chuang3SHI Ruixiang3
1 Dalian Maritime University,Dalian,China,1160262 Institute of Remote Sensing and Digital Earth,Chinese Academy of Sciences,Beijing,China,1001013 Institute of Geographical Scieces and Natural Resources Research,Chinese Academy of Sciences,Beijing,China 100101


Published:Mar. 2016

Visitors:12450       Data Files Downloaded:167      
Data Downloaded:34.42 MB      Citations:

Key Words:

Sumatera,island,coastline,Indonesia,data encyclopedia


Based on the Google Earth Images in 2015, the coastline data of the Sumatera island has been developed. The data shows that Sumatera island is located from 55o63'4.83〃 to 53o92'4.67〃N and 95o11'37.64〃E to 106o5'47.22〃E; the area of island is 428479.63 km2 and the total length of the coast lines is 15320.39 km. It is obviously that the Sumatera Island is the sixth largest island in the world. The maximum length is 1720km from north (5o39’32〃N) to south (5o54’32〃S) and its maximum width is 408 km from west (100o24’3.68〃E) to east (103o44’10.15〃E). The Sumatera faces the southeast of the Java crossing the Sunda Strait and faces the northeast of the Malay Peninsula crossing the Strait of Malacca. The neighbors of the Sumatera Island including the Andaman Islands located at the northern tip of Sumatra, the Bangka and Belitung Islands, located at the southeast side of Sumatra, and the Sumatera crossing Malacca Karimata Strait. The coastline of west Sumatera is less curvature, and the coastline of east Sumatera is more curvature. The major mountain of island is the Mt. Bukit Barisan at 3800 meters above sea level and covering nearly 1700 km. The equator is across the island and the climate of the Sumatera is the tropical rainforest. The temperature is no significant difference among regions, but there are significant differences in rainfall. Annual precipitation of the west coast is 3000 mm, the mountain area up to 4500-6000 mm, east of the mountains is 2000-3000 mm and the north and south ends of the island is 1500-1700 mm. Sumatera is the largest island in Indonesia. 10 provinces have been divided in the administrative system under the center government. The provinces are: Aceh, Bangka–Belitung Islands, Bengkulu, Jambi, Lampung, North Sumatra, Riau, Riau Islands, South Sumatra, West Sumatra.

Foundation Item:

Data Citation:

MA Long, TAO Zui, LV Tingting, ZHOU Xiang, LIU Chuang, SHI Ruixiang. Coastline Data of Sumatera Island[J/DB/OL]. Digital Journal of Global Change Data Repository, 2016.

Data Product:

ID Data Name Data Size Operation
1 SumateraIsland.kmz 121.82KB
2 SumateraIslandshp.rar 254.92KB